top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRobert Dickens

Balsamic Vinegar Explodes Flavors


It's likely an ancient wine connoisseur neglected a container of fermented grape juice for a time and setting undisturbed, when returning to consume the juice found vinegar

balsamic-vinegar.jpg

instead.

Unable to drink the wine the enthusiasm over the happening surly was not received well at the time but the benefits of vinegar has served us well ever since

.

The Balsamic version first appeases in Italy during the middle ages. The process is much like producing wine and bourbon, aged in wooden casts from 8 to 25 years or more. The most valuable stuff being the oldest, a bottle of this can go for $400. I have never splurged on a bottle of this grade but have tasted it.

You will find simulated versions on the self that are reasonably priced but not so flavorful. I never buy them. I always get one imported from Italy. A little pricey but well worth it and it will last me for some time. Labeled Aceto Balsamicodi Modena, it is the modern imitation of the real stuff, Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale. The price is affordable and I truly enjoy the flavor.

I have two favorites. One is vinaigrette made with fresh lemon juice, salt, balsamic, and olive oil.

This is the basics and you may add any herb or spice you like. The basic is one of my favorite choices for a salad.

The second is fruit. The way it brings out the flavor of strawberries is amazing. Balsamic vinegar and a dash of black pepper are fantastic. On ice cream, short cake, or just by themselves it’s great. I have been known to add a dash to preserves when adding it to yogurt.

It is tasty added to vegetables too.

A sprinkle of Balsamic Vinegar added to shrimp or scallops works well also.

Chefs have been coming up recipes from eggs to steaks and finding its culinary benefits.

It does contain some sulfites. Sulfites are found in many foods and even drugs, typically used as a preservative.

Vinegar, in general, has an extensive list of uses and benefits. I learned how well it cleaned glass at a young age. My mom would send me outside with a bucket of water and vinegar mix and some wadded up newspaper every spring to wash the windows. She would pour it all over me in summer to ease the sting of sun burn too. I was never one to turn down pickles ether.

Update: now I find it works well cleaning my computer. It may even unclog your slow kitchen drain and clean you coffee pot.

If you and the others around you don’t mind the smell the bugs don’t like it ether when you’re out in the deep woods hunting mushrooms.

I always marinade my pork in a mix of water, seasoned salt, and white vinegar before putting it on the grill. It’s so good we hardly need barbecue sauce.

There are different degrees of acidity in different types so the uses vary according to the application.

We all should be sure to have vinegar in our diet. There are some who have a shot everyday aiding with digestion for one reason. I prefer getting my dose with something pickled or in vinaigrette. Peppers, pickles, and I’m always using capers for tuna, salmon, and fish.

Known to help regulate blood sugar levels and can be an aid to any diet or weight loss plan.

You can spend all day finding vinegar used as a home remedy for all kinds of aliments although some have not been verified by science.

There is no doubt it is healthy and deserves a place in your pantry.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page